ASEAN – Integration Through the Skies

The 9 Freedoms of the Air allow aeroplanes to fly into the land and airspace of other countries. In comparison to the European Union (EU) which has allowed the mandate of all 9 Freedoms, ASEAN has only allowed the first 5.

Despite encouragement from the ASEAN Economic Blueprint 2025 to develop the ASEAN Community Carrier – an airline license to operate across ASEAN as a whole, there lie the hurdles of different ASEAN aviation laws as well as varied national ownership limitation requirements and foreign direct investment (FDI) policies.

Many experts believe that by allowing all 9 Freedoms, ASEAN can bring prosperity to its 650 million people market to better interregional connectivity and economic integration.

Spread the Word

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email